Watch Canada compete in the FIVB Volleyball Nations League

Click on the video player above to watch the Canadian national indoor volleyball teams compete at the FIVB Volleyball Nations League (VNL) in Rimini, Italy.

Live coverage continues Monday when the Canadian women’s team battles Turkey at 9:45 a.m. ET.

Action resumes now with the Canadian women taking on China, and on Wednesdsay when the Canadians face Germany (6:45 a.m. ET).

Format remains the same

Carrying on from the successful 2018 and 2019 competitions, the 2021 VNL continues in the same format of 12 core teams and four challenger teams per gender with each team playing against every other – though in view of the ongoing pandemic all matches of both genders will be played in the Italian city of Rimini.

CBC Sports will be your destination for complete coverage of Canada’s matches in the VNL.

The men’s core teams are Argentina, Brazil, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, Japan, Poland, Russia, Serbia and USA. They are complemented by the challenger teams from Australia, Bulgaria and Canada, plus newcomers Slovenia, who won the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Challenger Cup and are replacing Portugal who were relegated that same year, and the Netherlands, who are replacing China.

The women’s core teams include Brazil, China, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Russia, Serbia, Thailand, Turkey and USA. The challenger teams are Belgium, the Dominican Republic and Poland, plus Canada, who won the latest FIVB Volleyball Challenger Cup to replace Bulgaria who were relegated in 2019.

Canadian women’s roster

  • Jennifer Cross, Scarborough, Ont.
  • Parker Austin, Edmonton
  • Cassie Bujan, Winnipeg
  • Alexa Gray, Calgary
  • Hilary Howe, Calgary
  • Shainah Joseph, Ottawa
  • Brie King, Surrey, B.C.
  • Caroline Livingston, Kelowna, B.C.
  • Emily Maglio, Coquitlam, B.C.
  • Andrea Mitrovic, Mississauga, Ont.
  • Alicia Ogoms, Winnipeg
  • Kim Robitaille, Repentigny, Que.
  • Dani Smith, Beaverlodge, Alta.
  • Kennedy Snape, Kelowna, B.C.
  • Layne Van Buskirk, Windsor, Ont.
  • Jazmine White, Oshawa, Ont.
  • Kiera Van Ryk, Surrey, B.C.

Canadian men’s roster

  • TJ Sanders, London, Ont.
  • Gordon Perrin, Creston, B.C.
  • Steven Marshall, Abbotsford, B.C.
  • Nicholas Hoag, Sherbrooke, Que.
  • Jordan Pereira, St. Catharines, Ont.
  • Stephen Maar, Aurora, Ont.
  • Jay Blankenau, Sherwood Park, Alta.
  • Ryan Sclater, Port Coquitlam, B.C.
  • Daniel Jansen Van Doorn, Langley, B.C.
  • Lucas Van Berkel, Edmonton
  • Sharone Vernon-Evans, Scarborough, Ont.
  • Eric Loeppky, Steinbach, Man.
  • Graham Vigrass, Calgary
  • Blair Bann, Edmonton
  • Arthur Szwarc, Toronto
  • Brett Walsh, Calgary
  • Danny Demyanenko, Toronto

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 2 = 2